Distribution

img_20130130_190624Story so far (updated February 2014) . . . We distributed a limited print run (2000) of our preview issue during the summer of 2012, including the national Transition Conference.

Throughout our pilot year in 2013 more than 100 initiatives, businesses and social enterprises have been distributing a bundle of the quarterly Transition Free Press, amounting to almost 60,000 newspapers in total. This has been mostly within mainland UK but has also included Jersey, Brussels, Hamburg and the US.

From December 2013 TFP network of initiatives and community enterprises in the UK have been distributing our No 4 Winter edition in their local outlets and neighbourhoods. We are now looking for distributors for 2014 (starting with our fifth May edition) so do come and join us! New and old hands are both welcome.

The cover price is £1.00 so you can either sell them to raise money for your local Transition Initiative, or you can ask for donations to cover your costs, or you can simply give them away, or any combination of the above. A number of initiatives act as hubs and share the bundle with neighbouring groups. The cost of a bundle starts at £50 for 125 copies, i.e. 40p per copy.

Please note: the bundles do need to be ordered and paid for in advance. This means only limited supplies are available after publication date. For more information or to sign up for bundles in 2014, please contact Mark Watson: mark@transitionfreepress.org.uk (Tel: 01502 722419)

List of Main Distributing Hubs in the UK

ENGLAND -MIDDLE

Oxford
Jo Hamilton jo.hamilton@ouce.ox.ac.uk
Abingdon
Sally Reynolds sallyreynolds@btinternet.com
Haddenham in Transition
David Lyons dakeyd10 (at) googlemail.com
Winslow Transition Group
David Field winslowtransitiongroup@gmail.com
Transition Leicester
Doug Golding info@transitionleicester.org.uk
Transition Louth
James Pocklington jpocklington@fastmail.fm
Transition Market Harborough
Mark Baverstock markbaverstock77@me.com
Milton Keynes Transition
Michael Sheppard mshep.mkgreens@gmail.com
Transition Stourbridge
Jonathan Hazlewood jon.hazlewood@gmail.com

EAST
Transition Cambridge (and Saffron Walden)
Anna McIvor transitioncambridge@gmail.com
Transition Norwich
Lesley Grahame lesley7railway@yahoo.co.uk
Dan Wheals dano@herbaculture.co.uk
List of Norwich stockists and distributors
Sustainable Bungay
Mark Watson mark@transitionfreepress.org.uk
Transition Nayland
Michaela Woollatt michaela.woollatt@gmail.com
Southend on Sea in Transition
Kamil Pachalko kamilpac@gmail.com

WEST
Dorset Agenda 21 (da21)/Blandford Forum, Dorset
Paul McIntosh pmcintosh@north-dorset.gov.uk
Transition Marlborough
Alexandra Wax secretary@transitionmarlborough.org
Transition Frome
Rachel Bodle rachel.bodle@gmail.com
Transition Hereford/Kington
Robert MacCurrach rob.maccurrach@googlemail.com
Transition Town Cheltenham
Jerry Barrs barrs@jerrysue.co.uk
Transition Stroud
Seb Buckton seb.buckton@gmail.com
Transition Gloucester
Noel Sharp noel.sharp@btinternet.com
Transition Town Totnes
Jay Tompt Jay@transitionfreepress.org.uk
Bideford (North devon)
Pete Yeo peteyeo67@googlemail.com
Scilly Isles
Jonathan Smith jonathan@scillyorganics.com

NORTH
Manchester – Community Index & Leeds
Leslie Swann lesley@communityindex.co.uk
Transition Matlock/Wirksworth/Belper
Marion McCartney mazmcc@gmail.com
Transition City Lancaster
Caroline Jackson cjnmeadow@tiscali.co.uk
Transition Tynedale (Northumberland)
Debbie Reed debbiereed2004@hotmail.com

SOUTH
Transition Lewes
Alexis Rowell alexis@transitionfreepress.org.uk
Transition Forest Row
Mike Grenville mgrenville@gmail.com
Transition Chichester
Julia Sander julia@sander.plus.com
Cuckmere Valley Transition
Brian Jones Brian@milligens.org.uk
Transition Farnham
Robert Simpson rf.simpson@talk21.com
Transition Southampton
Clare Diaper clarediaper@hotmail.com;
Transition Fareham
John Vivan john.vivian@ntlworld.com
Transition Hythe/Folkestone
Martin Whybrow martin_whybrow@yahoo.co.uk (07787 124794)
Transition Canterbury/East Kent
Jo Barker shavannabarker@yahoo.co.uk
Transition Redhill
Bryn Truscott bryn.truscott@gmail.com
Transition Dorking
Sally Elias sallysunflower2012@gmail.com
ReThink Brighton
Amy Hall amy@transitionfreepress.org.uk; Martin Grimshaw martin@rethinkbrighton.org.uk

LONDON
Transition Walthamstow
Paul Gasson paulgasson@gmail.com
Transition Crouch End
Pamela Harling pjharling@hotmail.com
Transition Belsize
Ugo Vallauri info@transitionbelsize.org.uk
Thorntons Budgens, Belsize Park
199-205 Haverstock Hill, NW3 4QG
Transition Town Brixton
Duncan Law dl@duncanlaw.co.uk
Transition Town Tooting
Lucy Neal lucy (at) lucyneal.co.uk
Transition Ealing
mikedennis_uk@yahoo.co.uk
Transition Kentish Town
Alexis Rowell alexisrowell@googlemail.com

SCOTLAND
Sustaining Dunbar
Philip Revell philip@sustainingdunbar.org
Transition Edinburgh Uni
David Somervell david.somervell@ed.ac.uk; Eva Schonveld eva@transitionscotland.org
Transition Heriot-Watt Uni
Chris Milne Chris.Milne@hw.ac.uk
Towards Transition Glasgow / Dumbarton Road Corridor Environment Trust
http://ttglasgow.ning.com  http://dumbartonroad.wordpress.com/
Neil Lovelock getinvolved@dumbartonroad.com
Transition Black Isle
Anne Thomas anne.katherine.thomas@gmail.com
Transition Forres
Karin Schwartz schwartz@gmail.com
Keig/Alford (Aberdeenshire)
Sue Norris susannorris359@btinternet.com
Transition University of St. Andrews
Alistair Macleod am296@st-andrews.ac.uk
Shetland/Transition Turriefield
Penny Armstrong turriefield@btinternet.com

WALES
Trawsnewid Llandrindod (Wells) Transition
Di Greaves www.transitionllandrindod.org.uk
Transition Bro Gwaun (Fishguard)
Tom Latter tom.latter@btinternet.com
Lampeter – The Organic Fresh Food Company
Lucy Watson lucy@organicfreshfoodcompany.co.uk

UNITED STATES
Community Threads, Woodinville, Washington
Trish Knox transitionwoodinville@gmail.com

For further information about distribution contact: Mark Watson mark@transitionfreepress.org.uk  (01502 722419)

Image by Neil Lovelock (distributing hub in Glasgow)

14 Responses to Distribution

  1. We’d be interested in distributing here at Transition Hythe, how’s the first edition coming along and what is the availability date. Good luck with the venture, I’d be delighted to contribute if you are interested (I’ve been a journalist for 25 years)

  2. Sorry about the above, I do know how to use questionmarks, just somehow forgot to do so!

  3. That’s great Martin. Many thanks. We’re planning a winter edition and starting to commission now. Will be in touch soon!

    Best wishes,
    Charlotte

    email: charlotteducann@transitionnetwork.org

  4. Pingback: Joining the dots – are you part of the new network? « Transition Free Press

  5. Pingback: Calling All Transition Initiatives, groups and individuals! « Transition Free Press

  6. Pingback: Mark in Flowers goes distributing papers (as well as seeds) « Mark in Flowers

  7. Charlie Keil says:

    I’m an elder and a great believer in hard copy, old fashioned publications that you can carry around with you. What’s the format? Strictly a UK phenom?

  8. Is there anyway for us to distribute these in the states?

  9. Mark Watson says:

    Greetings @Charlie and @Stephen

    Charlie, if you let me know where you are and how many papers you’d like I can work out the cost from there.

    How many were you thinking of ordering, Stephen?

    all the best,
    Mark

  10. Pingback: Calling All Transition Initiatives, groups and individuals!

  11. mayank kachroo says:

    im an engineering student in india.. there is lot of scope here for transition, but ppl dont knw where to start. will u be shipping the newsletter to india. and can we get a glimpse of wat it contains.

  12. Sally says:

    We’re in the “mulling” stage of Transition and nowhere ready to distribute 250 copies – any chance of 20? I’d really like to promote the ideas and look forward to reading it myself..
    Sally

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s