Distribution

img_20130130_190624Story so far (updated February 2014) . . . We distributed a limited print run (2000) of our preview issue during the summer of 2012, including the national Transition Conference.

Throughout our pilot year in 2013 more than 100 initiatives, businesses and social enterprises have been distributing a bundle of the quarterly Transition Free Press, amounting to almost 60,000 newspapers in total. This has been mostly within mainland UK but has also included Jersey, Brussels, Hamburg and the US.

From December 2013 TFP network of initiatives and community enterprises in the UK have been distributing our No 4 Winter edition in their local outlets and neighbourhoods. We are now looking for distributors for 2014 (starting with our fifth May edition) so do come and join us! New and old hands are both welcome.

The cover price is £1.00 so you can either sell them to raise money for your local Transition Initiative, or you can ask for donations to cover your costs, or you can simply give them away, or any combination of the above. A number of initiatives act as hubs and share the bundle with neighbouring groups. The cost of a bundle starts at £50 for 125 copies, i.e. 40p per copy.

Please note: the bundles do need to be ordered and paid for in advance. This means only limited supplies are available after publication date. For more information or to sign up for bundles in 2014, please contact Mark Watson: mark@transitionfreepress.org.uk (Tel: 01502 722419)

List of Main Distributing Hubs in the UK

ENGLAND -MIDDLE

Transition Reading
Chin Yee info@transitionreading.org.uk
Transition Kings Heath, Birmingham
Liz Wright transitionkh@gmail.com;
Oxford
Jo Hamilton jo.hamilton@ouce.ox.ac.uk
Abingdon
Sally Reynolds sallyreynolds@btinternet.com
Haddenham in Transition
David Lyons dakeyd10 (at) googlemail.com
Transition Town Marlow
Dave Hampton dave@carboncoach.com
Winslow Transition Group
David Field winslowtransitiongroup@gmail.com
Transition Town Cheltenham
Jerry Barrs barrs@jerrysue.co.uk;
Transition Leicester
Doug Golding info@transitionleicester.org.uk
Transition Louth
James Pocklington jpocklington@fastmail.fm
Milton Keynes Transition
Michael Sheppard mshep.mkgreens@gmail.com

EAST
Transition Cambridge (and Saffron Walden)
Anna McIvor transitioncambridge@gmail.com
Transition Norwich
Lesley Grahame lesley7railway@yahoo.co.uk
List of Norwich stockists and distributors
Sustainable Bungay
Mark Watson mark@transitionfreepress.org.uk
Transition Nayland
Simon Gilhooly simon.gilhooly@gmail.com
Southend on Sea in Transition
Kamil Pachalko kamilpac@gmail.com

WEST
Dorset Agenda 21 (da21)/Blandford Forum, Dorset
Paul McIntosh paul@da21.org.uk;
Transition Hereford
Nick Sherwood ensher@onetel.com
Transition Town Totnes
Jay Tompt Jay@transitionfreepress.org.uk
Bideford (North devon)
Pete Yeo peteyeo67@googlemail.com

NORTH
Chester
Mark Sams info@transitionchester.org.uk
Manchester – Community Index
Leslie Swann lesley@communityindex.co.uk
Transition Matlock/Wirksworth/Belper
Marion McCartney mazmcc@gmail.com
Transition City Lancaster
Caroline Jackson cjnmeadow@tiscali.co.uk
Transition Tynedale (Northumberland)
Debbie Reed debbiereed2004@hotmail.com

SOUTH
Transition Lewes
Alexis Rowell alexis@transitionfreepress.org.uk
Transition Forest Row
Mike Grenville mgrenville@gmail.com
Transition Chichester
Julia Sander julia@sander.plus.com
Cuckmere Valley Transition
Jane Jones Jane@milligens.org.uk
Transition Farnham
Robert Simpson rf.simpson@talk21.com
Transition Southampton
Clare Diaper clarediaper@hotmail.com;
Transition Hythe/Folkestone
Martin Whybrow martin_whybrow@yahoo.co.uk (07787 124794)

LONDON
Transition Walthamstow
Paul Gasson paulgasson@gmail.com
Transition Finsbury Park (Crouch End)
Jo Homan TransitionFreePress (at) jo.homan.me.uk (07733 330 379)
Transition Belsize
Ugo Vallauri info@transitionbelsize.org.uk
Transition Town Brixton
Duncan Law dl@duncanlaw.co.uk
Transition Town Tooting
Lucy Neal lucy (at) lucyneal.co.uk
Transition Ealing
mikedennis_uk@yahoo.co.uk

SCOTLAND
Sustaining Dunbar
Philip Revell philip@sustainingdunbar.org
Transition Edinburgh Uni
David Somervell david.somervell@ed.ac.uk
Towards Transition Glasgow / Dumbarton Road Corridor Environment Trust
http://ttglasgow.ning.com  http://dumbartonroad.wordpress.com/
Neil Lovelock getinvolved@dumbartonroad.com
Transition Black Isle
Anne Thomas anne.katherine.thomas@gmail.com
Transition Forres
Karin Schwartz schwartz@gmail.com
Keig/Alford (Aberdeenshire)
Sue Norris susannorris359@btinternet.com

WALES
Trawsnewid Llandrindod (Wells) Transition
Di Greaves www.transitionllandrindod.org.uk
Transition Bro Gwaun (Fishguard)
Tom Latter tom.latter@btinternet.com
Lampeter – The Organic Fresh Food Company
Lucy Watson lucy@organicfreshfoodcompany.co.uk

For further information about distribution contact: Mark Watson mark@transitionfreepress.org.uk  (01502 722419)

Image by Neil Lovelock (distributing hub in Glasgow)

14 Responses to Distribution

  1. We’d be interested in distributing here at Transition Hythe, how’s the first edition coming along and what is the availability date. Good luck with the venture, I’d be delighted to contribute if you are interested (I’ve been a journalist for 25 years)

  2. Sorry about the above, I do know how to use questionmarks, just somehow forgot to do so!

  3. That’s great Martin. Many thanks. We’re planning a winter edition and starting to commission now. Will be in touch soon!

    Best wishes,
    Charlotte

    email: charlotteducann@transitionnetwork.org

  4. Pingback: Joining the dots – are you part of the new network? « Transition Free Press

  5. Pingback: Calling All Transition Initiatives, groups and individuals! « Transition Free Press

  6. Pingback: Mark in Flowers goes distributing papers (as well as seeds) « Mark in Flowers

  7. Charlie Keil says:

    I’m an elder and a great believer in hard copy, old fashioned publications that you can carry around with you. What’s the format? Strictly a UK phenom?

  8. Is there anyway for us to distribute these in the states?

  9. Mark Watson says:

    Greetings @Charlie and @Stephen

    Charlie, if you let me know where you are and how many papers you’d like I can work out the cost from there.

    How many were you thinking of ordering, Stephen?

    all the best,
    Mark

  10. Pingback: Calling All Transition Initiatives, groups and individuals!

  11. mayank kachroo says:

    im an engineering student in india.. there is lot of scope here for transition, but ppl dont knw where to start. will u be shipping the newsletter to india. and can we get a glimpse of wat it contains.

  12. Sally says:

    We’re in the “mulling” stage of Transition and nowhere ready to distribute 250 copies – any chance of 20? I’d really like to promote the ideas and look forward to reading it myself..
    Sally

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s